Totally Kalat, but that’s okay. It’s hump day

It has been too long. I’m not exactly in the right mood to write tonight, but if I keep waiting for that, I may never write again.

Something’s been bothering me lately. A lot of negative vibes swarming around and it’s literally keeping me weighed down. Ironically, I used to be a source of negativity not too long ago. I complained about everything and anything. I even got in trouble for it when one of my rants went public. Since starting my job here at *** (who am I kidding? One look at my Facebook profile and you’ll see where I work), it’s like I’ve turned over a new leaf. I feel like a completely different person. More hardworking, more positive, more appreciative. And I know that it’s God who used my current place of work as an instrument to a brand new, better me! But like I said, lately, I’ve been in the company of negativity. I never knew that it could be this depleting. It used to be that I was the one shooting off negative vibes so I never knew how much poison I was releasing.
Being in this position now, makes me want to stay positive. To appreciate the things in life that should be appreciated. At Monday Morning Prayer two weeks ago at work, our NSM shared a reflection on perseverance. At the beginning of this week, I was trying to shake off negative vibes. My forehead was knotted into a frown, and I was trying to figure out how to get around this stumbling block, when I recalled Sir R’s sharing. You see, I can be like a horse with blinders (my officemates already said I LOOK like a horse. Buti nalang I’m coboy like that). I rarely get the bigger perspective right away. This time, it hit me that things are not black and white. Things can’t always be perfect. I don’t know why, at 30, I still expect them to be and get shocked out of my shoes when things don’t go so smoothly or when I run into kinks. But what you gotta do is face it head-on. Strive, push, forge ahead until you hurdle that obstacle.
It’s not going to be easy. It may even be a struggle. But life is like that, as cliche as it may sound. This is a really kalat post, I know. I’m not even gonna try to fix it. But i’m ending in on another note, not exactly related to the one I was just talking about. I’m going to try and be positive. Now that I’ve experienced how draining it is to be around nega people, I don’t want to continue spreading my poison.
Leave a Reply

