Merry CRIBSmas!



I’ve always said that I don’t want to have kids. But in July, when my friend C. had a party at CRIBS, I realized that I might actually have a desire to foster children. I got this idea because my former boss also used to foster children. Then, when I visited CRIBS, I learned that they also need foster parents to prepare the babies for adoption. The last time I was there, I did not really get to spend time with the babies. I’d spent time with the tweens/teens and I got all teary eyed there too. 


With Brother Bong, representing PascualLab

Today, I went to CRIBS with some colleagues to drop off some donations from our employees. What we did was ask for the top three wishes of the tweens/teens and we matched each child to an individual or a group within the office. 
The gift isn’t from me. It’s from one of the kind donors from PascualLab.

Mang Gener
While waiting, we learned that Solenn Huesaff was there, sharing her blessings to the tweens/teens, so we hopped into the crawlers’ section to check out the babies. 

Brother Bong with his “ex-girlfriend” Solenn
As I entered, this little guy crawled towards me and asked to be carried. When I took him in my arms, I saw just how adorable this little boy is. He was fair-skinned, red-lipped, and a smiler. For someone who doesn’t want kids, I couldn’t, for the life of me, understand how anyone could abandon this child. The little boy, whose name is Carlo, loved to smile. I lifted him up above my head and he gurgled. I spun him around and danced with him and he beamed at me. As I cradled him in my arms and took a good look at him, I was surprised to feel this warmth spread throughout me. I guess it’s what others might call the ticking of the biological clock. But, see, I still don’t want one of my own. I wanted this little boy, whose mother just left him to fend for himself. I smelled his soft baby skin and kissed his pink, chubby cheeks, and I just didn’t want to let go. I can’t describe the feeling. I just felt like I wanted to do everything in my power to protect him. If I were financially stable right now, I probably would have scooped him up and filed for an adoption application. 

That’s when L. called my attention to the baby she was carrying. He had some sort of abnormality, in the way that you can tell from telltale signs on his facial expression. He kept crying because L. put him down and I guess he wanted to keep being held. I heard the babies there really need alot of human touch. I plan to go back there one day and just spend the afternoon holding and playing with the babies. If you have some free time, why don’t you try it too. You don’t have to donate anything. The best thing you can give is compassion. 

To schedule a visit, call CRIBS at 6815921.
Leave a Reply

