Endoscopy was kind of fun

I’ve said this over a million times. I love hospitals. I love the smell of disinfectant in the air, and the way their linen smells squeaky clean. Today, I had my first ever procedure. I needed to have an gastroscopy done to find out what’s wrong with my stomach, which has been acidic the past month or two. I once had a friend who suffered badly from ulcers, and I was kind of traumatized. So at the first sign of discomfort, I hightailed it to the doctor’s clinic. My procedure was scheduled at 9.30 am. I was asked to be there half an hour prior to my procedure, but I wasn’t settled into the gurney until about 10.30am. My doctor is perennially late, and I was already a little cranky because the procedure required me to fast. I was hoping to get something in my tummy after an hour or two, but by 10am, I was still in the waiting room. He had just arrived, but I was fifth on his list. Buti nalang a gastroscopy only lasts about 5-10 minutes. While waiting, the anesthesiologist inserted an IV line, through which she will administer Propofol, which happens to be the same anes that Michael Jackson overdosed on. So before I knew it, I was being ushered to endoscopy room. I was asked to lie down on a gurney, and as I was waiting, I looked around to see how a procedure room looked like in Pinas. I’ve only ever seen those shown on Grey’s Anatomy, my favorite TV series EVER. It was a simple room that had an “old” quality to it. Knowing that The New Medical City was constructed in mid or late 2000, I wondered who the designer was and if it was a deliberate choice to make the place so seventies. I noticed how bright the lights were and how cold the room was. I noticed the clock directly in front of me, albeit slightly overhead, and wondered if they’ve ever had to use that to call time of death. I was, after all, in and endoscopy room and not in an operating the room. Then the techs put on my heart monitor, then my ECG, and then my oxygen, which was cold and dried up my nose so I was hoping that my anes would put me under ASAP. She came to my side with a syringe, said “Inject ko na yung anesthesia ha”. I nodded, then, after five literal seconds, I started getting woozy. I loved it! I loved that the effect was so instant! The room started to get blurry before I could even count to six! The attendants asked me to roll on to my side and I could barely do it, I was so groggy! I managed to get onto my left side, was conscious for about a second on my side and then I was out. I absolutely loved it! 
The next thing I knew, a male voice was waking me up, then telling me I was in the recovery room, to sleep off the anesthesia. I tried, but my I guess my body’s tolerance to sedatives is pretty high because I used to pop Benadryl AH like there was no tomorrow, because after that, mababaw nalang tulog ko. The nurses were chatting a little noisily as well, so that kept me from going to sleep. Plus the lady on my right had so much reklamo. The man on my left was snoring his head off. Haha. I said to the nurse “Ambabait namin kapag tulog ‘no? Pag gising, ang kukulit na”, cause I kept asking them if I could get up because I couldn’t sleep anymore. Overall, it was a good experience. There were no traces of the gastroscopy, I almost feel like it didn’t happen! 


The nurses at Medical City were awesome, too. I don’t know why people still like to go to crowded and old Makati Med. But yeah, TNMC is my most favorite hospital in the whole world that when I got hospitalized two years ago, in my groggy state, I asked the nurse to make sure to admit me into The Medical City. I said this while in the gurney of St. Luke’s to a nurse employed there. 

Leave a Reply

